Cedar City, UT - By Wednesday's deadline, a total of eight Cedar City residents have filed to run for three open city council seats, including incumbent Tyler Melling.

Terri Hartley and Craig Isom are not seeking reelection.

Other new candidates, in order of filing are:

Mary Pearson, Mark Mumford, Kathy Long, Carter Wilkey, Sara Ridgel, Brittany Fisher and Robert Cox.

Municipal Primary Election Day is slated for Tuesday, September 5.  After paring down the candidate field to six, Cedar City voters will decide which three candidates will occupy the open seats, on general Election Day, scheduled for Tuesday, November 21.

General Election Day comes a few weeks later this year to satisfy the requirements in a special election to decide who will replace U.S. congressman Chris Stewart, who is stepping down in September.

More From KSUB 590/107.7