Iron county voters waiting for their ballots are now facing a longer delay than had been previously expected. In a release to the public, Iron County Clerk Jon Whittaker indicated that the ballots are now not expected to be in mailboxes until either Saturday or Monday. According to the release, the database was sent by Iron County to the printer on September 19th. The printer prepared the ballots and then sent them to a Pitney-Bowes facility in Las Vegas for mail order sorting on October 14th. That facility, without telling the printer facility or Iron County, then sent the ballots to a facility in Dallas, Texas. Pitney-Bowes then sent the ballots by truck to the Salt Lake City Post Office. Whittaker indicated that there were several aspects of these events that were inappropriate, and that Iron County would no longer be using the printer. By statute, counties can mail ballots between 21 and 7 day proceeding an election, which would be a window in this case of October 18th through November 2nd. Whittaker indicated that Iron County will be able to meet this requirement, but said the county is “extremely frustrated and disappointed” with the situation.

Early Voting Extended

Because of the delay in the mail, the county will be extending the opportunities for early voting. Early voting at the Iron County Courthouse began today and will be available Monday-Friday from 7am to 8pm until Monday, November 7th. Voters can also vote at the courthouse on Saturdays from 8am until 6pm and on Sundays from 3pm to 8pm on the weekends prior to election day on Tuesday, November 8th. Early voting will also be available at the Cedar City Office at 10 N. Main in Cedar City on Tuesday and Wednesday, November 1st and 2nd from 8am to 5pm and on Thursday and Friday, November 3rd and 4th from 8am to 6pm.

Drop Off Ballot Locations

Along with the Iron County Courthouse in Parowan and the Cedar City Offices in Cedar City, ballot drop off boxes are also located at these locations:

Enoch City Office - 900 E. Midvalley Road in Enoch

Paragonah Town Hall - 44 N 100 East in Paragonah

Kanarraville Town Hall – 44 S. Main in Kanarraville

Parowan City Office – 35 E 100 North in Parowan

Brianhead Town Hall – 56 N Highway 143 in Brianhead

Dixie Power – 71 E Highway 56 in Beryl

Voters can also drop off ballots on Election Day, November 8th at the Iron County Courthouse, The Cedar City Office and the Enoch City Office.

Update Monday 10/31

In an email to the media this morning, Monday, Jon Whittaker indicated that ballots are now showing up in some residents mailboxes.

More From KSUB 590/107.7